Douglasvermeeren's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

My social media challenge to you – The Speaking Business Multiplier

leave a comment »

the_speaking_business_multiplier_logo02

My social media challenge to you

By Douglas Vermeeren, The Speaking Business

There are many reasons why people might want to be a coach, trainer or speaker. As I see all the images that many of my speaker friends post on social media it is certainly an exciting life. Many of them post pictures of the books they are writing and the vast audiences they are presenting to. (I’ve done it too.) Many of them are posting pictures of new cars, homes or clothing they’ve purchased. (I’ve done this way too much) Many of them post pictures of famous celebrities they’ve met or where they are in on globe today. (Again I’m guilty) While these pictures are interesting (and I encourage people to keep sharing the things that get them excited) I often wonder why more people (me included) aren’t sharing more about the people they are actually helping and the solutions that they are sharing in the marketplace. Perhaps there are others who could also be helped.

It just seems to me with so many amazing and brilliant leaders in the self improvement industry that we’d see more support and helpfulness than we do. I know many of the top leaders personally and the things they teach are really making a difference for others. I know many others too that quite frankly I couldn’t tell you what they teach. I love them, I respect them, but I think they are capable of more. I already know for almost all of these people its not about getting paid. Spend five minutes with most of the people who have chosen personal development as a career and they are the most kind and giving people you will ever meet – but this isn’t really translating on social media.

I believe that you know what I’m talking about. Rather than create feelings of empowerment and inspiration (which is why most of us chose this path for our life) many of us are leaving a trail of jealousy, comparison and gossip about who really is legit and who is just a poser. Is that really how we want those outside of our industry to feel about this industry? Naturally if that’s the impression we are creating it will effect us too. I am sure you are just like me and you want to provide high value and you do really care about people. I’m not saying we are perfect but I am saying we are genuinely trying our best to give our best.

So here’s my social media challenge to all personal development teachers! Please pass this on too!  MY CHALLENGE TO YOU IS TO START USING SOCIAL MEDIA TO DO SOME ACTUAL TEACHING. And if you’re currently doing it I congratulate you but encourage you to step it up. Teach more! Share more! Give me support and more solutions! Don’t hold back your teachings for a workshop or speech. The world needs you now. I can promise you that the more you share the more people will find a seat in your audiences at your live events. Why? Because they’ll see that you have real solutions and they’ll feel you care.

Try it.

What’s an important problem you can share your insights into today? Make a video, write an article, post a quote, make a comment. It doesn’t have to be big to affect someone.

That’s my challenge to you. Let’s see what happens next. Please levee your thought below and please share this post if you think we need to see more inspiration!

NOVADouglas Vermeeren is the Speaking Business Multiplier. His clients include beginning speakers all the way to celebrities, athletes, top business leaders and more. His focus is on helping them to develop high profit speaking, coaching and training businesses. He is the author of three books in the guerrilla marketing series and filmmaker behind 3 of the most popular personal development films of all time. http://www.DouglasVermeeren.com

 

Leave a Reply

