Douglasvermeeren's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

What is your business model? The Speaking Business Multiplier

leave a comment »

What is your Business Model?

By Douglas Vermeeren, The Speaking Business Multiplier

the_speaking_business_multiplier_logo02

Many speakers want to create a successful and profitable business. The reality is that there is a lot of competition out there and only a small portion of speakers are actually even able to do this full time let alone build a prosperous business. There are a few things that you can do to increase your chances for success and the first thing would be to determine the business model you are going to use for your speaking business.

fear-of-public-speaking-image

Early in my business career I had an experience that may be useful to share. In my late teens I had an idea for a business. I had a family friend that expressed he might be willing to help me launch it. He invited me to assemble my materials and come see him. I decided to get busy and build a business plan. I borrowed books form the library and got busy assembling what I thought a business plan looked like. I’ll never forget the night before I was at the local Kinkos putting the finishing touches on the plan until two a.m. adding colour diagrams and images. I put in a lot of work.

The next day when I brought it for him to take a look at he didn’t even open it up. Instead he asked one question. Where are the transactions in your business? He then explained that while a business plan was useful it was only a guide and often changed with the marketplace conditions, challenges faced by the business and many other factors. However if I knew where the transactions were I could recognize what activities where going to make my money.

So today I’m not going to tell you how to build you business specifically but I want you to think about where your transactions are. Here’s a small list some of my students came up with at on of our High Profit Speaker events:

Speaking for a fee

Selling product from the stage

Be an MC

Speak at schools

Coaching

Consulting

Mentoring

Joint venturing

Training for others

online courses

Workshops

Subscriptions

retreats

study at home courses

franchising/licensing

Cruises

Network marketing trainer

Selling products in stores/infomercials

Product consultant

Hosting your own events

Event consultant

Mastermind host

Speaking bureau

Writing articles or blogs

Media guest

Smart phone applications

Designing a game (ie. Cashflow)

Naturally there are many more options. I have listed only the few my students mentioned at our last event. Naturally there are many more. Feel free to pick ones you’d like to use and make a comment and list the ones that are not mentioned here.

douglas-vermeeren-600Douglas Vermeeren is the Speaking Business Multiplier. His clients include beginning speakers all the way to celebrities, athletes, top business leaders and more. His focus is on helping them to develop high profit speaking, coaching and training businesses. He is the author of three books in the guerrilla marketing series and filmmaker behind 3 of the most popular personal development films of all time. http://www.DouglasVermeeren.com

#SpeakingBusinessMultiplier #DouglasVermeeren

Leave a Reply

