Douglasvermeeren's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The Importance of reading Great Books!

leave a comment »

personal-development-books.png

The importance of reading great books!
By Douglas Vermeeren

Often people ask me what’s the one single thing that they could do to elevate their mindset, inject new and effective ideas into their business and increase their ability to get to their most important goals. The answer is really simple read more great books.

As I interviewed and conducted research into more than 400 of the worlds top achievers one of the biggest common attributes among them was that they were avid readers of great books. They recognized the importance of learning and made every effort to do so. I want to clarify that it wasn’t just a matter of reading anything – they specifically chose good books that would lift them higher. As every moment of your day is precious you must also chose your reading the same way.

I need to clarify I am not against reading for entertainment. There are some amazing and brilliant stories. But the kind of reading I am talking about is what I saw first hand develop people into leaders. The sections at the bookstore that they frequent most are business, self-help, economics and biography. I have tried to do the same. What you fill your mind with most determines what you will think about most. What you think about most determines what you feel about and decide to take action on. When you fill your mind with powerful strategies you are no longer acting haphazardly to create results. You actually have strategies that work and will get you what you are looking for.

The bottom line is that if you don’t know how to do a thing you can learn it from books.

A second highly valuable side effect of reading books from the best minds available is that in a sense they become your teachers, mentors and even peers. You may heard it said that you become like those you spend time with. Each page you spend in a book with an expert gives you a deeper relationship with them. Their thoughts become synergized with yours and new results are created altogether.

In conducting my interviews with the worlds top achievers I tried to read books these individuals had written before I met them. This also gave me great insight into what I need to learn from them when we had a chance to spend face to face time in real life. Many of the success strategies they had written about in their books I was able to learn even deeper when I saw how they implemented the strategy in real life.

blog-16

Books also have a power and magic that videos and audios can’t capture. The learning style of reading is altogether different than just watching a video or learning. Watching and learning have great merit as well. But in a book a reader can progress at their own pace, take notes, annotate and allow the physical written word to imprint in their mind. Studies have demonstrated that the power of recall is often more powerful with information that is read versus information that is watched or heard.

Top-Shelf-Books-1024x532

Reading also allows you to pick up the pace when learning. You can progress at whatever speed you choose and you can even jump to things that you want to learn immediately. When I first started in personal development I tried to get my hands on and red everything I could get my hands on. In the short space of three months I once read just over 100 books. That was a little over one a day. I started early in the day and read through the day every chance I got and then read into the night. It was a push to do it and I certainly don’t run at that pace now. In fact, instead of trying to get through books quickly I have actually tried the reverse. I go slow and aim not for page count but for pay understanding. Recently I even decided to read a book three times in a row before putting it back on the book shelf. Speed isn’t the goal. Comprehension and implementation is.

As I mentioned reading great books was a common attribute of all the top achievers I encountered and that fact alone should convince you to get reading more. What you learn determines what you can earn. And great books are the best place to start.
DV Photo 1Douglas Vermeeren – Are you ready to level up? You’ve come to the right place. Douglas Vermeeren is considered one of the top leaders in personal development and achievement psychology. He is considered by many to be the modern day Napoleon Hill for his extensive research into the lives and psychology of more than 400 of the world’s top achievers. Douglas Vermeeren is the creator of The Personal Power Mastery program which helps you unlock your most powerful self and created positive changes in your life.

PPM logo

http://www.DouglasVermeeren.com http://www.PersonalPowerMasteryEvent.com http://www.PersonalPowerMasterySchoolPrograms.com

Leave a Reply

