Douglasvermeeren's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

One of the quickest ways to get awesome in your life – BAM #3

leave a comment »

I-Am-Awesome-Close-Up-e1346147344621One of the quickest ways to get awesome in your life…
By Douglas Vermeeren

An Awesome life is living your life by decision. You are where you want to be, doing the things that excite you, inspire you and bring out the best in you and in those around you.

But this kind of life doesn’t come easy. Lots of people want it, but most people aren’t prepared to let go of the things that are in the way. Surprisingly one of the biggest obstacles to living your life on your terms is not the most obvious.

Are you ready for it? Ego. Your ego is one of the biggest things that keeps you from being awesome. Without getting into too much detail you probably already get where I am going with this. If you look at the most inspiring moments from your life you will quickly see that they were not connected to moments where you pushed yourself to the front, manipulated circumstances to get your own way or made someone else feel bad to “make yourself look better.”

Now I’m not suggesting that all definitions of ego are bad. That could lead to a massive debate about what is healthy ego and so on. I don’t want to go there. I believe you can’t be awesome without a proper level of self -esteem. What I am talking about is the level of ego that pushes others down in an attempt to lift you up. That kind of ego and awesomeness cannot co-exist.

True greatness requires that you recognize and respect the greatness in others too.

And if you look at those around you carefully those that are truly awesome never have to tell anyone about it. Goodness doesn’t need a promoter. It always gets found out on its own. (Which is kind of ironic to say considering the image I used at the beginning of this article.)

As I started thinking about, and more importantly trying to practice this principle of awesomeness, I found that I was also more calm and still. I was no longer as competitive to make my points known or demonstrate that I was someone special or smart. I stepped back and started trying o become a better listener, learner and support for others.

The result immediately I began to have more awesome (Look back at the definition above) experiences. I also found that immediately the way others treated me back came more awesome. It may sound kind of strange but as I put myself second I began to experience things in a more inspiring way. The reward was I was feeling further ahead than when I tried to push ahead. Weird isn’t it?

Anyways, that’s my challenge to you if you want more awesome in your life. Put your self interests and selfish ideas second, slow down that ego and let others go first. It’s that simple.

Bam-813x600
# BeAwesomeMovment #Scienceofbeingawesome #douglasvermeeren #peoplecanchange #positivepsychology #Lawofattraction #BAM #DougVermeeren #Whynotjustbeawesome #Youwerebornawesome #Youareawesome #awesomenessiswithinyou

Doug Vermeeren, douglas Vermeeren, law of attraction, Uncategorized
Tagged with #beawesomemovement, #DouglasVermeeren, #Dougvermeeren, #Peoplecanchance, #positivepyschology, #Scienceofbeingawesome, Awesome movement, awesome movie, awesome theory, BAM, BAM awesome, BAM douglas Vemreeren, BAM movement, be awesome movement, constant improvement, definition of awesome, do better, doug vermeeren, douglas vemreeren awesome book, douglas vermeeren, Douglas Vermeeren awesome, Douglas Vermeeren awesome movie., douglas Vermeeren fraud, douglas Vermeeren scam, Douglas Vermeeren speaker, forgiveness, Get over negative thinking, give life a chance, improce spirituality, improve, improve finances, improve health, improve relaitonships, improve relationships, improve self esteem, inspiration, law of attraction, Lead an inspiring life, Life coach, Life mastery, motivation, only human, People can chance, People can change, Personal development, Theory of awesome, theory of awesomeness, tools to improve, Vermeeren

Leave a Reply

