Douglasvermeeren's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Little shift creates big changes – BAM post 1

leave a comment »

Bam-813x600As a personal development teacher I recently took some time to reflect seriously on my life and some of my experiences. Like everyone else my life is not immune to challenges. Over the last several years I have had personal tragedy and the loss of loved ones. I have had business challenges and even had those close to me betray my trust and create really massive problems for me. I have also had relationship struggles where I wanted to be the best husband, father, son, brother and so forth and instead ended up often times hurting those I love the most. Long and short – it is often difficult to be human. We try our best but sometimes our best either isn’t good enough or it is simply misunderstood.

To those I have ever injured I am sorry. And to those who have hurt me I forgive you. Life is too short to carry these kinds of heavy burdens. Maybe I’m being too simplistic but I’ve come to the conclusion that if something does make you better or give you power it might be time to let it go. There are enough victims in the world and I don’t want to join their ranks. And I don’t recommend you do either.

As I thought about my existence (and the existence and lives of many of my students) I felt to empathize with the challenges but I felt an extremely grateful sense of hope. As I thought about all the blessing I had in my life I came to the incredible realization that life is truly AWESOME! I put those letter in capital intentionally. I really do feel life is AWESOME in all capital letters.

But this post isn’t just about life being awesome it’s about creating awesome even when things don’t necessarily appear to be going that way. I believe in the law of attraction and that we can create our lives according to the desire we have in our hearts. I also believe that we must have correct expectations and that means that things won’t always go right – but having that expectation gives us even more power to create awesome. (More on this idea later.)

As I thought about how awesome is created in life I came to the conclusion that Awesome is like Happiness. Both are a choice we make. It is not something that someone else can grant to us. It is not something we can buy. In some ways it is not even something we can earn. (Bad things do happen to good people from time to time. And rewards and punishments do come to those who don’t deserve it.) But once we chose to be awesome and experience awesome it does begin to flow to us.

First let me define an awesome life. To me an Awesome life is living your life by decision. You are where you want to be, doing the things that excite you, inspire you and bring out the best in you and in those around you. I like that definition.

To live a life that fits that description is a choice. Over the next while I am going to share some of my findings on what that choice looks like. It is not a single event. Once the choice is made there are habits of awesomeness to develop. Awesome is a consistent kind of thinking, actions and habits that support that initial choice.

As with any attempt to progress there is always opposition. I have experienced a lot of it personally as I have tried to set aside my ego and self interest and start living in a way that fits the awesome description above. There are moments it is really easy to slip back into the easy,quick-fix solution mode that I am trying to put behind me.

But as my experiments thus far have yielded (even in the short time I started really trying) I have seen improvements in my relationships, abundance, health, my feelings about myself and even my connection to spirituality. as the title of this article suggests this little shift has created big changes. If any of these areas above are something you would like to improve stay tuned because I am very excited to share what I’ve learned about lifting life to the level of Awesome!

Feel free to share your thoughts and stories if any of this helps. I am calling this the Be Awesome Movement. (BAM for short) And this movement is yours as much as it is mine. Join me and try the experiments. The more awesomeness the better.

Bam-813x600

# BeAwesomeMovment #Scienceofbeingawesome #BAM #douglasvermeeren #peoplecanchange #positivepsychology #Lawofattraction #Onlyhuman

Leave a Reply

