Douglasvermeeren's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Are you Pattern Primed for Success?

with 2 comments

What do you see in the center of these Circles?

What do you see in the center of these Circles?

Are you Pattern Primed for Success?

By Douglas Vermeeren

It’s time to head back to school. As everyone starts off with a fresh view and clean slate. If you want to add a significant brain tool to how you learn this year then listen up, because we have something powerful for you.  And even if you’re not a student listen up  because the technique we are about to share has been scientifically proven to help in a variety of settings including work, family life and staying focused with important goals.

The principle is called Pattern Priming. And here’s how it works:

Our brains are wired in a very unique way that strives to seek out patterns and seeks out the completion with all stimuli that it encounters.

That’s one of the reasons why we sometimes have the urge to finish peoples sentences, feel the need to finish a TV show even though we may be bored with it, why kids are told to finish their dinner and why the optical illusion on this page tells your brain there is a square between the four circles when it is not there. Our brain fills in the blanks and is constantly on the look out for other patterns to complete or questions to answer.

The principle of pattern priming utilizes this natural tendency of the brain. Pattern Priming is simply this. You prime your brain by creating blanks that your brain will crave to fill.

Pattern priming utilizes our brains specific ability to recognize. Recognition is a powerful system our mind uses to file. Recognition is not only used to categorize new information, but also to retrieve it when using our memory. There are two kinds of memory retrieval; Recognition and basic information recall. Studies have demonstrated that our ability is far more powerful for recognition than it is for basic information recall.

To illustrate participate in this experiment, If I asked you the what was the date of the Apollo 11 lunar landing on the moon are you able to recall the exact date? Now if I asked you to recognize the specific date from the following dates: August 14, 1972; December 3, 1984; July 20, 1969, are you able to pick it out of the options available to you?  Which is easier? If you had been exposed to that historical date prior to this experiment you will have found that recognition of an existing answer is always easier than attempting to reproduce an answer on your own.

This is also one of the reasons we are often much better at remembering the faces than the names of people we meet.

Recognition a powerful system that our brain utilizes to quickly interpret a situation. And recognition is a key factor in being able to pattern prime.

Let me give a personal example from my own life of how pattern priming helped me solve a problem I struggled with. I have always suffered form learning difficulties in school. Most of these challenges have had to do with attention or lack of ability to focus.

While in college I struggled with my first course in general psychology. I loved the information, but I had a hard time following the readings in the text. Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed reading the information, I just could not get much of it to stay in my brain.  I couldn’t anchor it because I had no context or application strategy. (We can talk about those points in another post.) Then I learned the idea of priming.

My priming technique was simple. Rather than just read through the text book hoping for results, I started my study session by creating a series of questions that I thought could be on my tests. Often times I would get these from the chapter summaries in the book.  I also began to ask the teacher after class more questions about what he thought was the most important points in this weeks assignment. With more than 25 questions or blanks to fill I began to read the text book.

My mind was now primed not just to read but to search.  When the answered appeared in the readings they were now vivid and almost popped off the page.  My brain was pattern primed to seek for closure by finding the answers.

From that day on I changed the way that I learned. Rather than look for answers I looked for questions. When I created unanswered patterns in my mind I found my brain holding onto the answers more firmly as I found them. Effective learning, I found was not a matter of taking more notes in class, but asking as many relevant questions as I could come up with so that may brain could get to work.

The results for me were quite dramatic. My teachers and I saw an improvement from a D to B+ and then to an A in just a matter of weeks.

While the above example may seem simple, pattern priming works. Whether it is to find an answer to a question in a school course, fill in the blank on a design, stay focused with goals that matter or simply to find closure on an idea, priming is a powerful tool for directing focus and getting the results you are looking for. Put your mind on a mission by priming it to seek out and zero-in on the results that you want in your life right now.

Douglas Vermeeren is the director of the SUCCEED Research Center which is dedicated to sharing research on the systems that top achievers use to create lasting success. Over the last decade Vermeeren has conducted research into the cognition and behavior of more than 400 of the world’s top achievers, including business leaders, celebrities and professional or Olympic athletes. Douglas Vermeeren is the author of Guerrilla Achiever (With Jay Levinson) and the creator of The Opus (with Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen, Dr. Joe Vitale, Dr. John Demartini, Dr. Sue Morter, Marci Shimoff, Bill Bartmann, Bob Doyle and Morris Goodman.) Currently Doug is completing another film entitled, How Thoughts Become Things. This film will explore the process of how our thoughts become manifest in our lives as reality.  For more on this film go to: www.HowThoughtsBecomeThings.com For more on Douglas Vermeeren go to: www.SucceedResearch.com Douglas Vermeeren can be reached for speaking engagements and training at 1.877.393.9496.

*For information on the Primed for Power workshop please call us at 1.877.393.9496

What do you see in the center of these Circles?

What do you see in the center of these Circles?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. keep it real, iight

    AnTiViRuS

    September 10, 2010 at 3:16 pm

  2. gonna send this to my mom

    weighty

    September 27, 2010 at 2:51 pm


Leave a Reply

